Lunging – a comparison

To make sure I can see Hippach’s progress clearly my husband takes lots of pictures and sometimes videos. Before we started Straightness Training and Classical Dressage (work in hand / groundwork) I lunged him just to evaluate the way he moved and his crookedness for example. It was immediately obvious to me he wasn’t able to carry himself. After that I haven’t lunged him a lot. We mostly enjoyed our groundwork sessions, building muscles and mind (!) and helping him get straighter. A week ago (after a month and a half) I lunged him again. I didn’t expect miracles, although I have seen him change, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised with the result.

Before… he was everywhere except where he needed to be 🙂

After…
I am very proud of Hippach. After a month and a half of groundwork and Straightness Training he is able to trot for quite a long time staying on the circle and even bending to the inside more and more, even keeping the same pace. Image we only do groundwork in walk and no trot yet. During walk he lowers his head beautifully and he bends very well! This trot was only a test, an evaluation to see how far we already are. Every horse has a strong and a weak side (that’s the thing we correct with Straightness Training). Hippach is a right-bended horse, so he is trotting on his weak side in this video. In a few weeks we will get a lesson from a Straightness Training Instructor. Wonder how far we will be around that time. Weeks to prepare for that!

4 thoughts on “Lunging – a comparison

    1. Thank you Elinor! The evening I was lunging him he was not even showing himself they way he can. He has amazing movements. Oh Elinor really… he is far too good for me, but I just fell in love with him from the moment I saw his face ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

